A-Film Studio is the direct heir and successor to the traditions of the Sverdlovsk Film Studio creative production association for artistic animation established in 1989 as an independent branch of the Sverdlovsk Film Studio and rebranded as A-Film Studio in 2001.
During those years, the studio has created over 80 animated auteur films that have received over 200 prizes and awards at the largest international and domestic film festivals: IFF Hiroshima (Japan), IFF Leipzig, IFF Dresden, IFF Stuttgart (Germany), IFF Espinho (Portugal), IFF Annecy (France), IFF Zagreb (Croatia), IFF Los Angeles, IFF New York, IFF Chicago (USA) ), IFF Fantosh, IFF Baden-Baden (Switzerland), IFF Ottawa (Canada), IFF Krok (Ukraine), IFF Poznan (Poland), the Open Russian Festival of Animated Films in Suzdal (Russia), Zolotoy Vityaz (Russia), etc.
Directors of the Studio Aleksei Karaev, Aleksandr Petrov, Oksana Cherkasova, Valery Fomin have been awarded the State Prizes of Russia. Prizes of the Governor of the Sverdlovsk Region have been presented to Oksana Cherkasova, Dmitry Geller, Valentin Olshvang, Zoya Kireeva, Mikhail Dvoryankin. Ekaterina Sokolova is a Nika Award winner.
Director Aleksandr Petrov was nominated for an Oscar Academy Award for his film Cow.
In the 90s and 2000s, the studio collaborated with SHAR, Pilot, and Christmas Film. A. Karaev, O. Cherkasova, and A. Kharitidi created several films commissioned by these studios.
The studio traditionally produces many debut films, providing young graduates of the Ural State University of Architecture and Art with opportunities to prove their skills in the art of animation.
Director of the studio: Valentina Khizhnyakova, Honored Culture Worker of the Russian Federation.