Natalia Vyacheslavovna Orlova

Natalia Vyacheslavovna Orlova

Film director, artist, screenwriter, teacher, Associate Professor of VGIK
USSR State Prize Laureate
Honored Artist of the Russian Federation, laureate of the “Nika” Award

In 1967, Orlova graduated from the Moscow Secondary Art School under the aegis of the Surikov Institute. In 1973, Orlova graduated from VGIK (Ivanov-Vano’s workshop) and, in 1984, from Higher Courses for Screenwriters and Film Directors (Khitruk’s workshop).

In 1973-1992, she worked at the “Soyuzmultfilm” Studio.

Orlova worked as a production designer for the film directors Andrey Khrzhanovsky, Roman Kachanov, Gennady Sokolsky.

Production designer of the film “The Mystery of the Third Planet”.

In 1992-1994, Orlova took part as an animation director in the joint project S4C and “Christmas Films” – “Shakespeare: The Animated Tales”, where she worked on the episodes “Hamlet” and “Richard III”.

Since 1994 she has been the executive director of the “Chelovek I Vremya” (“Man and Time”) Studio.

From 2000 to the present, Artistic director and film director of the “Animos” Animation Studio.

From 2010 to the present, Associate Professor of the Department of “Animation and Multimedia” at VGIK, head of the workshop “Directing an Animated Film”.



• 1985 “Volchok”
• 1986 “School Break Number 5. Could not Share”
• 1988 “Whom Shall We Tell My Sorrow?”
• 1992 “Hamlet”, “Shakespeare: The Animated Tales” cycle
• 1993 “Richard III”, “Shakespeare: The Animated Tales” cycle
• 1998 “Optimus Mundus 36. Winter”
• 1999 “Moby Dick”
• 2001 “Timoon and the Narwhal”
• 2004 “Kashtanka”


• 1986 “Lafertovskaya Makovnitsa”
• 1986 “School Break Number 5. Could not share”
• 1998 “Optimus Mundus 36. Winter”

Production Designer:

• 1976 “The House That Jack Built”
• 1977 “Silver Hoof”
• 1978 “Miracles in the Sieve”
• 1978 “Mouse Pik”
• 1981 “The Mystery of the Third Planet”
• 1982 “Magic Medicine”
• 1986 “School Break Number 5. Could not Share”
• 1987 “Motherland Tree”
• 1988 “Whom Shall We Tell My Sorrow?”
• 1990 “Because There Was no Nail in the Smithy”
• 1998 “Optimus Mundus 36. Winter”

Artistic Director:

• 2000 “Three Sisters Who Fell into the Mountain”
• 2002 “Zheltukhin”
• and more than sixty other films shot at the “Animos” Film Studio.